Skip to main content

SOTA Orchestra Concert

The Freako Diva now returns with an article on the Ruth Asawa School of the Arts Orchestra Concert that took place on November 7. Before I write anything about the concert itself, I want to mention that the SOTA Orchestra department has a new director, Tristan Arnold. I attended the Instrumental Fall Concert, but I didn't have time to write anything about it; so, here's the Orchestra concert, featuring Director Tristan Arnold and the SOTA Orchestra.

The evening was opened with full orchestra performing the overture to The Magic Flute by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. This piece was performed at a very professional level, setting the evening to a good start. The next two pieces performed, First Movement, Sinfonia No.8 by Felix Mendelssohn and Fugue from Concerto Grosso No. 1 by Ernest Bloch. Both of these pieces were performed with excitement, expressing the separate characters of the two pieces. The Concerto Grosso No. 1 concluded the first half of the concert, leaving the audience looking forward to the second half.

After intermission, the concert orchestra performed American Sketches: A Fantasy for Orchestra by Joshua Reznicow and the full orchestra performed the first suite of Peer Gynt by Edvard Grieg. Peer Gynt was performed with lots of vigorous passion and uncovered enthusiasm. Starting with Morning Mood, Maestro Arnold lulled the audience into a trance, and then during The Death of ├ůse the orchestra expressed the emotional distress experienced by Peer Gynt during his mother's death. The wild  and sexy Anitra's Dance was performed very energetically, expressing the passion and lust of Anitra. In The Hall of the Mountain King was the last to be performed, and the best. With the percussionists in the left corner, and the melody being played in a low, husky whisper, this piece kept the suspense going. The spooky performance was very picturesque, letting the audience imagine the mountain, and then the hall, and then the King himself (as the climax was reached). As Maestro Arnold conducted this piece, a chill ran down everybody's spine; and as the climax was reached, the entire audience was on the edge of their seats.

Special thanks to the spectacular tech crew including Dexter Chew as stage manager, Maia Cluver as Lead Lights, Nina Patchell as Assistant Lights, Tristan Burnham as Lead Sound, and Jack Gramling as Assistant Sound.

This Orchestra performance was very entertaining and professional in nature. I can't wait for the Vocal/Instrumental collaboration that will be coming up in December. Hope to see you there!


Popular posts from this blog

Opera gala time: Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra under Eduard Topchjan

The Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra, performing at the Aram Khachaturian Concert Hall, under the baton and artistic direction of Maestro Eduard Topchjan, never ceases to impress its summer audiences with the exceptionally entertaining and high-quality performances given. Featuring baritone David Babayants, soprano Ani Yorentz, tenor Liparit Avetisyan, soprano Hasmik Torosyan, bass Vazgen Gazaryan, and baritone Gianpiero Ruggeri, the Opera Gala produced an unforgettable effect upon the audience.
The program included selections from Leoncavallo, Gounod, Tchaikovsky, Mascagni, Puccini, Verdi, Mozart, Rossini, and Donizetti.

The spectacular gala opened with Gianpiero Ruggeri’s stunning performanc of Si puo? Si puo? Signore! Signori!, Tonio’s prologue from Ruggero Leoncavallo’s Pagliacci. Not only was the actual content of Tonio’s Prologue an ideal stage-warming number, it also manifested Ruggeri’s intriguing acting and smooth vocal production.

Next on the program was Ani Yorentz…

The Last Judgement: Verdi's Masterful Requiem and Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel

On September 14, 2017, the Armenian National Academic Theater of Opera and Ballet after A. Spendiarian performed Giuseppe Verdi's Requiem, but with a visual twist of murals from the Sistine Chapel, done by Michelangelo. The pictures were projected by "innovative technologies of the future" which allowed to create a "three-dimensional reproduction of the images of Michelangelo's masterpieces". Conducted by San Francisco-born conductor Konstantin Orbelyan Jr. (nephew of the famous Armenian conductor Konstantin Orbelyan), soloists soprano Marine Deinyan, guest mezzo-soprano from the USA Eleni Matos, bass Hayk Tigranyan, and tenor Sargis Aghamalyan performed Verdi's Requiem in this new realization of the stunning centerpiece of classical music. The visual effects were created by Italian stage and visual director Paolo Micciche. In Micciche's own words, "[t]he music of Verdi's Requiem has the same dramaturgy and rhythm as the great frescos by M…

Pianist Hrant Bagrazyan in Concert: In Memory of Professor Igor Yavryan

On July 19, accomplished classical pianist Hrant Bagrazyan gave a summer piano recital at the beautiful venue of the Komitas Museum-Institute, a "museum in Yerevan, Armenia, devoted to the renowned Armenian musicologist and composer Komitas", in memory of Professor Igor Yavryan, who passed away earlier this summer on June 16. Professor Yavryan was Bagrazyan's teacher and mentor.

"He helped me love and appreciate classical music and shaped me as a musician", wrote Bagrazyan. "Without him I wouldn't become a pianist."

The house was completely full, even with the necessity of adding several extra chairs to the rows in order to fit everyone who showed up for the performance. This is not surprising considering the high quality of the performance given.

The stunning program consisted of Komitas'  Six Dances, Johannes Brahms' Sonata No. 3 Op. 5 in f minor, Arno Babajanian's Six Pictures, and Maurice Ravel's Reflections. 

Komitas wrote th…