Skip to main content

Post-Finals Treat

For those students who actually showed up to school on the last day of school, Band Director Brad Hogarth and Orchestra Director Matthew Cmiel performed pieces for trumpet and guitar for the few students who came, Mr. Cmiel on guitar and Mr. Hogarth on trumpet. This was a real treat and a great farewell before the summer.

The pieces performed were:
  •  Osvaldo Golijov, Agonia from La Pasion
  • Maurice Ravel, Piece In The Form Of A Habanera
  • Heitor Villa-Lobos, Aria From Bachianas Brasilieras Number 5
  • Manuel De Falla, Homanaje Tombeau Por La Claude Debussy
  • Astor Piazzolla, Cafe 1930 from The History Of The Tango

Trumpet and guitar are two instruments that are so different that it would seem that performing a piece together they would sound awkward and not fitting. This is, however, a misconception. I myself have been skeptical about trumpet and guitar playing together, but ever since I heard Mr. Cmiel and Mr. Hogarth playing together at one of the instrumental shows at SOTA I understood that they actually sound very beautiful together. The belligerent harshness of the trumpet and sweet, quiet tone of the guitar produce an effect of lush tone. 

The trumpet, being a volatile instrument, is prone to triumphant "shouts" of victory. The guitar, however, is capable of producing such gorgeous melodic phrases that seep through the cries of the victorious trumpet. 

The pieces Mr. Hogarth and Mr. Cmiel performed weren't originally written for trumpet and guitar, but the music was so natural in fluidity that one would have never guessed that those were arrangements. 

My three favorites were Ravel's Piece In The Form Of A Habanera, Falla's Homanaje Tombeau Por La Claude Debussy, and Piazzolla's Cafe 1930 from The History Of The Tango. 

The Ravel attracted me with the Spanish spirit present throughout the whole piece. Homanaje Tombeau Por La Claude Debussy, Mr. Cmiel's solo, had a feel of nostalgia and respect for Debussy. For the Piazzolla piece, I felt like everyone sitting in the audience wanted to just get up and begin dancing the tango. 

I am looking forward for next year's end of the year concert.     


Popular posts from this blog

Opera gala time: Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra under Eduard Topchjan

The Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra, performing at the Aram Khachaturian Concert Hall, under the baton and artistic direction of Maestro Eduard Topchjan, never ceases to impress its summer audiences with the exceptionally entertaining and high-quality performances given. Featuring baritone David Babayants, soprano Ani Yorentz, tenor Liparit Avetisyan, soprano Hasmik Torosyan, bass Vazgen Gazaryan, and baritone Gianpiero Ruggeri, the Opera Gala produced an unforgettable effect upon the audience.
The program included selections from Leoncavallo, Gounod, Tchaikovsky, Mascagni, Puccini, Verdi, Mozart, Rossini, and Donizetti.

The spectacular gala opened with Gianpiero Ruggeri’s stunning performanc of Si puo? Si puo? Signore! Signori!, Tonio’s prologue from Ruggero Leoncavallo’s Pagliacci. Not only was the actual content of Tonio’s Prologue an ideal stage-warming number, it also manifested Ruggeri’s intriguing acting and smooth vocal production.

Next on the program was Ani Yorentz…

The Last Judgement: Verdi's Masterful Requiem and Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel

On September 14, 2017, the Armenian National Academic Theater of Opera and Ballet after A. Spendiarian performed Giuseppe Verdi's Requiem, but with a visual twist of murals from the Sistine Chapel, done by Michelangelo. The pictures were projected by "innovative technologies of the future" which allowed to create a "three-dimensional reproduction of the images of Michelangelo's masterpieces". Conducted by San Francisco-born conductor Konstantin Orbelyan Jr. (nephew of the famous Armenian conductor Konstantin Orbelyan), soloists soprano Marine Deinyan, guest mezzo-soprano from the USA Eleni Matos, bass Hayk Tigranyan, and tenor Sargis Aghamalyan performed Verdi's Requiem in this new realization of the stunning centerpiece of classical music. The visual effects were created by Italian stage and visual director Paolo Micciche. In Micciche's own words, "[t]he music of Verdi's Requiem has the same dramaturgy and rhythm as the great frescos by M…

Pianist Hrant Bagrazyan in Concert: In Memory of Professor Igor Yavryan

On July 19, accomplished classical pianist Hrant Bagrazyan gave a summer piano recital at the beautiful venue of the Komitas Museum-Institute, a "museum in Yerevan, Armenia, devoted to the renowned Armenian musicologist and composer Komitas", in memory of Professor Igor Yavryan, who passed away earlier this summer on June 16. Professor Yavryan was Bagrazyan's teacher and mentor.

"He helped me love and appreciate classical music and shaped me as a musician", wrote Bagrazyan. "Without him I wouldn't become a pianist."

The house was completely full, even with the necessity of adding several extra chairs to the rows in order to fit everyone who showed up for the performance. This is not surprising considering the high quality of the performance given.

The stunning program consisted of Komitas'  Six Dances, Johannes Brahms' Sonata No. 3 Op. 5 in f minor, Arno Babajanian's Six Pictures, and Maurice Ravel's Reflections. 

Komitas wrote th…