Skip to main content

Ars Minerva Presents La Cleopatra by Daniele da Castrovillari

Daniele da Castrovillari's La Cleopatra, a piece lost in Venice's archives, is now a popular opera and an example of the oldest operas.

The performance took place on Saturday, March 14, 2015 at 7:30 pm and Sunday, March 15, 2015 at 2:00 pm at the Marines Memorial Theater. 

Cèline Ricci has a dark, thick voice; very warm and very womanly, perfect for the role of Cleopatra. She crafted the role of Cleopatra to great heights both vocally and artistically.

Randall Scotting, who I know from one of his dvds of Vivaldi's Hercule, provided a good pairing to Ricci's Cleopatra. The arias he performed were, for me, a little bit too short, and Scotting squeezed out all of the effects he could from the material.

Nell Snaidas entertained the audience with her excellent portrayal of anger and vengeance, covering well some lackings in the libretto itself.

Bay Area Veteran, Igor Viera, as Clisterno, with his powerful voice and excellent acting added salt and pepper to the tasty dish of this evening.

Coriaspe abd Dolabella, Jennifer Ellis Kampani and Spencer Dodd, were fighting and singing at the same time, most of the time (of course for Cleopatra's love).

Michael Desnoyer, as Filenia, provided much needed advice to Cleopatra (and the audience) in her amorous adventures.

Arsinoe, Molly Mahoney, has a sweet voice, perfect for the role, and her sparklibg grey shoes were standing out in this all-black cosrume production.

Anders Froehlich ( Augusto) and James Hogan ( Domitio) appeared in the first half in one mezzo scene, and disappeared for the rest of the first Act, leaving us hanging with the question: so, uh, who were they again? My curiosity was satisfied later in the opera when they appeated to rescue Ottavia from the assassin.

Froehlich had an authentic baritone, perfect for the role, but again, he left me wondering why he disn't take Cleopatra for himself.

Hogan, being a conservatory student, already has great potential.

In Vienese carnival tradition, the orchestra has also part of the show, and the protagonists often were leaning on the musicians and flirting with them, and vice versa as well. The violin players, Natalie Carducci and Laura Rubinsten-Salzedo, were very supportive and calming to Arsinoe. The small, chambre orchestra played beautifully.

Conductor/ Harpsichord: Derek Tam
Theobro: Adam Cockerham
Cello: Gretchen Claasen
Violin I: Natalie Carducci
Violin II: Laura Rubinsten-Salzedo

The sets in this production was very well done and the entire thing worked out very well as a whole.

Mise en Espace: Céline Ricci
Video-Stage Design: Matthew Holmes
Assistance Video-Stage Design: Kellie Chambers
Light Design: Brian Poedy
Marketing: Francesca Morabito
Graphic Design/Illustration: Patrícia Nardi

Forgive me any typos and/or weird formatting. I typed this up on a phone and it's way harder to type and edit than on a regular computer.

Click here for the official Ars Minerva site!

Written by Rubina Mazurka


Popular posts from this blog

Opera gala time: Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra under Eduard Topchjan

The Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra, performing at the Aram Khachaturian Concert Hall, under the baton and artistic direction of Maestro Eduard Topchjan, never ceases to impress its summer audiences with the exceptionally entertaining and high-quality performances given. Featuring baritone David Babayants, soprano Ani Yorentz, tenor Liparit Avetisyan, soprano Hasmik Torosyan, bass Vazgen Gazaryan, and baritone Gianpiero Ruggeri, the Opera Gala produced an unforgettable effect upon the audience.
The program included selections from Leoncavallo, Gounod, Tchaikovsky, Mascagni, Puccini, Verdi, Mozart, Rossini, and Donizetti.

The spectacular gala opened with Gianpiero Ruggeri’s stunning performanc of Si puo? Si puo? Signore! Signori!, Tonio’s prologue from Ruggero Leoncavallo’s Pagliacci. Not only was the actual content of Tonio’s Prologue an ideal stage-warming number, it also manifested Ruggeri’s intriguing acting and smooth vocal production.

Next on the program was Ani Yorentz…

The Last Judgement: Verdi's Masterful Requiem and Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel

On September 14, 2017, the Armenian National Academic Theater of Opera and Ballet after A. Spendiarian performed Giuseppe Verdi's Requiem, but with a visual twist of murals from the Sistine Chapel, done by Michelangelo. The pictures were projected by "innovative technologies of the future" which allowed to create a "three-dimensional reproduction of the images of Michelangelo's masterpieces". Conducted by San Francisco-born conductor Konstantin Orbelyan Jr. (nephew of the famous Armenian conductor Konstantin Orbelyan), soloists soprano Marine Deinyan, guest mezzo-soprano from the USA Eleni Matos, bass Hayk Tigranyan, and tenor Sargis Aghamalyan performed Verdi's Requiem in this new realization of the stunning centerpiece of classical music. The visual effects were created by Italian stage and visual director Paolo Micciche. In Micciche's own words, "[t]he music of Verdi's Requiem has the same dramaturgy and rhythm as the great frescos by M…

Pianist Hrant Bagrazyan in Concert: In Memory of Professor Igor Yavryan

On July 19, accomplished classical pianist Hrant Bagrazyan gave a summer piano recital at the beautiful venue of the Komitas Museum-Institute, a "museum in Yerevan, Armenia, devoted to the renowned Armenian musicologist and composer Komitas", in memory of Professor Igor Yavryan, who passed away earlier this summer on June 16. Professor Yavryan was Bagrazyan's teacher and mentor.

"He helped me love and appreciate classical music and shaped me as a musician", wrote Bagrazyan. "Without him I wouldn't become a pianist."

The house was completely full, even with the necessity of adding several extra chairs to the rows in order to fit everyone who showed up for the performance. This is not surprising considering the high quality of the performance given.

The stunning program consisted of Komitas'  Six Dances, Johannes Brahms' Sonata No. 3 Op. 5 in f minor, Arno Babajanian's Six Pictures, and Maurice Ravel's Reflections. 

Komitas wrote th…