Skip to main content

They Call Me Mimí: La Bohéme at the SF Opera

Giocomo Puccini's La Bohéme at the San Francisco War Memorial Opera House was a flamboyant production with love, jealousy, friendship, and death. Conducted by Giuseppe Finzi and directed by John Caird, this performance was conspicuous in all of its factors.

Alexey Markov, Marcello, persuaded the audience of his broken heart with his rich timbre of voice.

Michael Fabiano, Rodolfo, sprang up to the high notes with lots of energy, intriguing the audience with his lovely tone.

Christian Van Horn, Colline, is a familiar performer for me and I found his performance as memorable as all of the other ones I had attended to.

Hadleigh Adams, Schaunard, was an entertaining supporting character.

Dale Travis, Benoît and Alcindoro, despite the briefness of his roles made an engraving in the listener's brain.

Alexia Voulgaridou, Mimí, brought the audience to tears with her sweet voice, with which she manifested the character's hidden lust.

Nadine, Sierra, Musetta, kept the audience laughing with her character's frivolous behavior.

Overall, the impression the cast left was quite stunning. The only thing I was not happy with was that the characters of Marcello, Rodolfo, Colline, and Schaunard were too similar to each other. The same thing applied to Mimí and Musetta; the two women should be complete opposites of each other, but in this production the difference was not obvious enough. I suspect that this is due to the fact that this was the premiere, and the performers had not lived into their roles yet.

One thing I really enjoyed in addition to the singing were the set changes. They were very smooth and natural, especially in the second half.

Don't forget to get your tickets here.


Popular posts from this blog

Opera gala time: Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra under Eduard Topchjan

The Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra, performing at the Aram Khachaturian Concert Hall, under the baton and artistic direction of Maestro Eduard Topchjan, never ceases to impress its summer audiences with the exceptionally entertaining and high-quality performances given. Featuring baritone David Babayants, soprano Ani Yorentz, tenor Liparit Avetisyan, soprano Hasmik Torosyan, bass Vazgen Gazaryan, and baritone Gianpiero Ruggeri, the Opera Gala produced an unforgettable effect upon the audience.
The program included selections from Leoncavallo, Gounod, Tchaikovsky, Mascagni, Puccini, Verdi, Mozart, Rossini, and Donizetti.

The spectacular gala opened with Gianpiero Ruggeri’s stunning performanc of Si puo? Si puo? Signore! Signori!, Tonio’s prologue from Ruggero Leoncavallo’s Pagliacci. Not only was the actual content of Tonio’s Prologue an ideal stage-warming number, it also manifested Ruggeri’s intriguing acting and smooth vocal production.

Next on the program was Ani Yorentz…

The Last Judgement: Verdi's Masterful Requiem and Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel

On September 14, 2017, the Armenian National Academic Theater of Opera and Ballet after A. Spendiarian performed Giuseppe Verdi's Requiem, but with a visual twist of murals from the Sistine Chapel, done by Michelangelo. The pictures were projected by "innovative technologies of the future" which allowed to create a "three-dimensional reproduction of the images of Michelangelo's masterpieces". Conducted by San Francisco-born conductor Konstantin Orbelyan Jr. (nephew of the famous Armenian conductor Konstantin Orbelyan), soloists soprano Marine Deinyan, guest mezzo-soprano from the USA Eleni Matos, bass Hayk Tigranyan, and tenor Sargis Aghamalyan performed Verdi's Requiem in this new realization of the stunning centerpiece of classical music. The visual effects were created by Italian stage and visual director Paolo Micciche. In Micciche's own words, "[t]he music of Verdi's Requiem has the same dramaturgy and rhythm as the great frescos by M…

Pianist Hrant Bagrazyan in Concert: In Memory of Professor Igor Yavryan

On July 19, accomplished classical pianist Hrant Bagrazyan gave a summer piano recital at the beautiful venue of the Komitas Museum-Institute, a "museum in Yerevan, Armenia, devoted to the renowned Armenian musicologist and composer Komitas", in memory of Professor Igor Yavryan, who passed away earlier this summer on June 16. Professor Yavryan was Bagrazyan's teacher and mentor.

"He helped me love and appreciate classical music and shaped me as a musician", wrote Bagrazyan. "Without him I wouldn't become a pianist."

The house was completely full, even with the necessity of adding several extra chairs to the rows in order to fit everyone who showed up for the performance. This is not surprising considering the high quality of the performance given.

The stunning program consisted of Komitas'  Six Dances, Johannes Brahms' Sonata No. 3 Op. 5 in f minor, Arno Babajanian's Six Pictures, and Maurice Ravel's Reflections. 

Komitas wrote th…