Skip to main content

Will You, Won't You, Will You, Won't You, Will You Join The Dance

If you missed the Ruth Asawa School of the Arts Dance Department's show, I don't know how you can compensate your loss other than by going next year. The SOTA Dance Department, presenting the result of their annual work, surprise their audience every year by exhibiting gracious dances revealing the soul of the art.

"There is nothing the body suffers the soul may not profit by."
George Meredith (1828-1909)
The Egoist 

I won't go into detail about all the dances, but instead I will say general remarks about the whole show. The high-energy beat present throughout the whole dance performance and the way the dancers transferred the mood of each dance to the audience made the evening delightful to all. The performance overall was made in a very professional manner, but the soul of a teenager seeped through the seams always present in the professional stage. This part of the performance made it even more enjoyable to watch, allowing the teenagers in the audience - and that was almost 50% of the people sitting in the seats - to relate in spirit and soul. The solos gave us, as the audience, a chance to relax our eyes and concentrate on one person only. 

This said, I must also say that the emotions were just spewing out of the performers and splashing onto the awestricken audience. 

The musical choices in the performance were very interesting and contrasting in style. This made it not only interesting to watch but also to listen!

Anonymous sources in the audience stated, 

"What I like a lot is how the lighting of the stage goes with the music and the dance. It's really visually appealing."

And I agree! The light corresponded perfectly with the mood and character of each number. The costumes played a very important role in the transferring of the character of each dance. 

Visual artist Maya Winshell said,

"I guess I didn't like that there was an intermission, because I was very very willing to sit through many many hours of it. I thought they were all incredible and I really thought they could all have been in the same level, but the ones in Advanced really stood out and impressed me." 

As a conclusion, I want to say that I wish the Ruth Asawa School of the Arts Dance Department had more dance performances than one at the end of the year.  


Director: Elvia Marta
Beginning: Juan Pazmino
Intermediate: Graciela Acedo
Advanced & Production: Gregory Dawson


Beginning: Milissa Payne Bradley
Int, Adv & Production: Lyn Brilhante & Elvia Marta
Choreography: Claudia Anata Hubiak
Guest Choreographer: Stacey Printz
Pianist: Lucy Hudson
Graphic Design: Joyce Zavarro
Photographer & Videographer: Rapt Productions

SOTA Technical Crew

Technical Director: Paul Kwapy
Co-Chair: Keith Carames
Lighting: Gabe Pothier, William Rodriguez, Tristan Vaca
Sound: C. J. Bauman, Glenn Quilici
Production Assistants: Carlin Macomber, Sydney Gaudreau, Katarina Bone-Tsokolati

Palace of Fine Arts Crew

Executive Director: Kevin O'Brien
House Manager: David Young
Head Carpenter: Kevin Taylor
Head Electrician: Brian Schumann
Head Sound: Robert Williams, Jr. 

Dancers of 2014

Advanced Beginning: Nicole Carpio, For Garza Romero, Hanna Hotchkiss, Julian Litauer Chan, Akerah Mackey, Mike Monokandilos, Brianna Vasquez-Brosnan, Darina Voronovskaya.

Low Intermediate: Rachael Greer, Maya Imperial, Atasha Lucy Jaffar, Keiko Kurotani, Ashley Lun, Emma Miller, Mariko Orii.

Imtermediate I: Meagan Ahem, Audrey Berger, Margaux Brosnan, Erik Debono, Tanashau Harris Santiago, Maegen Hoover, Sarah Kearney, Adrienne Long, Kira Luscher, Madelyn Moulton,Keilyn Skaggs, Rayann Solidum, Sydney Vermilyea, Noah Wang.

Intermediate II: Ysabelle Capitule, Aimee Grumbach, Marivel Mendoza, Abigail Miller, Nikolina Palada, Alexis Pineda. 

Advanced/Production: Chaityn Isaacson-Brewster, Shannon tse, John Peter Viernes. 


Popular posts from this blog

Opera gala time: Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra under Eduard Topchjan

The Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra, performing at the Aram Khachaturian Concert Hall, under the baton and artistic direction of Maestro Eduard Topchjan, never ceases to impress its summer audiences with the exceptionally entertaining and high-quality performances given. Featuring baritone David Babayants, soprano Ani Yorentz, tenor Liparit Avetisyan, soprano Hasmik Torosyan, bass Vazgen Gazaryan, and baritone Gianpiero Ruggeri, the Opera Gala produced an unforgettable effect upon the audience.
The program included selections from Leoncavallo, Gounod, Tchaikovsky, Mascagni, Puccini, Verdi, Mozart, Rossini, and Donizetti.

The spectacular gala opened with Gianpiero Ruggeri’s stunning performanc of Si puo? Si puo? Signore! Signori!, Tonio’s prologue from Ruggero Leoncavallo’s Pagliacci. Not only was the actual content of Tonio’s Prologue an ideal stage-warming number, it also manifested Ruggeri’s intriguing acting and smooth vocal production.

Next on the program was Ani Yorentz…

The Last Judgement: Verdi's Masterful Requiem and Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel

On September 14, 2017, the Armenian National Academic Theater of Opera and Ballet after A. Spendiarian performed Giuseppe Verdi's Requiem, but with a visual twist of murals from the Sistine Chapel, done by Michelangelo. The pictures were projected by "innovative technologies of the future" which allowed to create a "three-dimensional reproduction of the images of Michelangelo's masterpieces". Conducted by San Francisco-born conductor Konstantin Orbelyan Jr. (nephew of the famous Armenian conductor Konstantin Orbelyan), soloists soprano Marine Deinyan, guest mezzo-soprano from the USA Eleni Matos, bass Hayk Tigranyan, and tenor Sargis Aghamalyan performed Verdi's Requiem in this new realization of the stunning centerpiece of classical music. The visual effects were created by Italian stage and visual director Paolo Micciche. In Micciche's own words, "[t]he music of Verdi's Requiem has the same dramaturgy and rhythm as the great frescos by M…

Pianist Hrant Bagrazyan in Concert: In Memory of Professor Igor Yavryan

On July 19, accomplished classical pianist Hrant Bagrazyan gave a summer piano recital at the beautiful venue of the Komitas Museum-Institute, a "museum in Yerevan, Armenia, devoted to the renowned Armenian musicologist and composer Komitas", in memory of Professor Igor Yavryan, who passed away earlier this summer on June 16. Professor Yavryan was Bagrazyan's teacher and mentor.

"He helped me love and appreciate classical music and shaped me as a musician", wrote Bagrazyan. "Without him I wouldn't become a pianist."

The house was completely full, even with the necessity of adding several extra chairs to the rows in order to fit everyone who showed up for the performance. This is not surprising considering the high quality of the performance given.

The stunning program consisted of Komitas'  Six Dances, Johannes Brahms' Sonata No. 3 Op. 5 in f minor, Arno Babajanian's Six Pictures, and Maurice Ravel's Reflections. 

Komitas wrote th…