Skip to main content

All Aboard The Ghost Train!

On Friday, March 14, 2014, (Pi day) I was lucky enough to attend a Ruth Asawa School of the Arts Band Concert, conducted by the fabulous Brad Hogarth. The programming was well - planned and the level of performance was extremely high. As a freshman at SOTA, I found it a completely different experience listening to music made by people I know personally.

The first piece performed was John Mackey's Harvest: Concerto for Trombone. The trombonist was Oscar Yau (although the program had a misprint which said that his name was Oscar Hin). This piece was performed with such valor (if you will permit me to use such a word when describing music) that the audience seemed to be in the scene. The scene, being about how the Greek God of wine Dionysus suffered a torturous death before being reborn again, analogized the grape harvest to the constant cycle of Dionysus. Personally for me, the picture was drawn out clearly. The music produced by both the orchestra and Mr. Yau was in such spiritual harmony that the picture of Dionysus being torn to shreds by his followers was clearly visible in the listener's head. 

The next selection on this absolutely fabulously and stunningly brought - together program was Ghost Train composed by Eric Whitacre in 1995. This piece consisted of three movements: movement one, movement two, movement three...wait. What was I trying to say? Oh, yes! I was trying to say The Ride, At The Station (Margaret Nygard playing a solo within the piece), and Motive Resolution. The first movement of this glorious composition - I will mention the shushing noises made by the performers to resemble the sounds made by a train - was evokingly ( I know. I know that's not a word) vehement for both the performer and listener. Even the audience members who were sleeping (darn that one-hour time change) during Mackey's Harvest seemed to awake in the splendor of musical instruments joining forces to create beauteous music. 


The next piece after intermission was Shepherd's Hey by Percy Grainger. This piece had a light feel to it. I particularly enjoyed the concept of having the full band orchestra on stage instead of only the wind ensemble. Irish Tune From County Derry, the next piece performed, was by the same composer and is perfect for the upcoming holiday of Saint Patrick's Day! The last piece on the program was George Washington Bridge by William Schuman. This piece was performed by the symphonic band. Maestro Hogarth faced the audience to announce the last piece and mentioned the concert band coming out in a few minutes to perform the last piece. But the concert band had already performed the first two pieces! Alright, Maestro Hogarth then realized his mistake and said something about the wind ensemble getting ready to perform their last selection. At this point people sitting in the audience began shouting out to Maestro Hogarth that it was the symphonic band which was about to come on stage. And yes, it really was the symphonic band. 

"I even had my notes in front of me," said Maestro Hogarth, pulling out from behind his back a pack of papers with something written on them. 

Okay, so now I'm off to tonight's Orchestra Concert. See you there! 


Popular posts from this blog

Opera gala time: Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra under Eduard Topchjan

The Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra, performing at the Aram Khachaturian Concert Hall, under the baton and artistic direction of Maestro Eduard Topchjan, never ceases to impress its summer audiences with the exceptionally entertaining and high-quality performances given. Featuring baritone David Babayants, soprano Ani Yorentz, tenor Liparit Avetisyan, soprano Hasmik Torosyan, bass Vazgen Gazaryan, and baritone Gianpiero Ruggeri, the Opera Gala produced an unforgettable effect upon the audience.
The program included selections from Leoncavallo, Gounod, Tchaikovsky, Mascagni, Puccini, Verdi, Mozart, Rossini, and Donizetti.

The spectacular gala opened with Gianpiero Ruggeri’s stunning performanc of Si puo? Si puo? Signore! Signori!, Tonio’s prologue from Ruggero Leoncavallo’s Pagliacci. Not only was the actual content of Tonio’s Prologue an ideal stage-warming number, it also manifested Ruggeri’s intriguing acting and smooth vocal production.

Next on the program was Ani Yorentz…

The Last Judgement: Verdi's Masterful Requiem and Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel

On September 14, 2017, the Armenian National Academic Theater of Opera and Ballet after A. Spendiarian performed Giuseppe Verdi's Requiem, but with a visual twist of murals from the Sistine Chapel, done by Michelangelo. The pictures were projected by "innovative technologies of the future" which allowed to create a "three-dimensional reproduction of the images of Michelangelo's masterpieces". Conducted by San Francisco-born conductor Konstantin Orbelyan Jr. (nephew of the famous Armenian conductor Konstantin Orbelyan), soloists soprano Marine Deinyan, guest mezzo-soprano from the USA Eleni Matos, bass Hayk Tigranyan, and tenor Sargis Aghamalyan performed Verdi's Requiem in this new realization of the stunning centerpiece of classical music. The visual effects were created by Italian stage and visual director Paolo Micciche. In Micciche's own words, "[t]he music of Verdi's Requiem has the same dramaturgy and rhythm as the great frescos by M…

Pianist Hrant Bagrazyan in Concert: In Memory of Professor Igor Yavryan

On July 19, accomplished classical pianist Hrant Bagrazyan gave a summer piano recital at the beautiful venue of the Komitas Museum-Institute, a "museum in Yerevan, Armenia, devoted to the renowned Armenian musicologist and composer Komitas", in memory of Professor Igor Yavryan, who passed away earlier this summer on June 16. Professor Yavryan was Bagrazyan's teacher and mentor.

"He helped me love and appreciate classical music and shaped me as a musician", wrote Bagrazyan. "Without him I wouldn't become a pianist."

The house was completely full, even with the necessity of adding several extra chairs to the rows in order to fit everyone who showed up for the performance. This is not surprising considering the high quality of the performance given.

The stunning program consisted of Komitas'  Six Dances, Johannes Brahms' Sonata No. 3 Op. 5 in f minor, Arno Babajanian's Six Pictures, and Maurice Ravel's Reflections. 

Komitas wrote th…