Skip to main content

Anyone Need A Haircut? Figaro Is Back!

The Barber of Seville, (a.k.a. Figaro), has come to the San Francisco Opera. Music by Rossini, The Barber of Seville is a joyful story which happens to be the prologue to The Marriage of Figaro. The Marriage of Figaro takes place in the house of Conte Almaviva while The Barber of Seville takes place in the house of Doctor Bartolo. In The Barber, Rosina is not married to the count yet and she really wants to. Doctor Bartolo is her guardian but he wants to marry her to maintain her wealth. With the help of the cunning Figaro, the Count and Rosina outwit Doctor Bartolo.

There are two casts: Lucas Meachem as Figaro, Isabel Leonard as Rosina, Javier Camarena as the Count Almavia, Alessandro Corbelli as Doctor Bartolo, Andrea Silvestrelli as Don Basilio, and Catherine Cook as Berta. The second cast includes Audun Iversen as Figaro, Daniela Mack as Rosina, Alek Shrader as the Count Almaviva, Maurizio Muraro as Doctor Bartolo, Andrea Silvestrelli and Catherine Cook are in both cast sets. Giuseppe Finzi will be conducting. 

Lucas Meachem sang Count Almaviva two years ago in The Marriage of Figaro and Don Giovanni from Don Giovanni. Alessandro Corbelli has sung Doctor Dulcamara from The Elexir of Love at the War Memorial before. Andrea Silvestrelli sang Sparafucile in Rigoletto in this season. Alek Shrader sang Nemorino from The Elexir of Love and Tamino from The Magic Flute. 


Popular posts from this blog

Opera gala time: Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra under Eduard Topchjan

The Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra, performing at the Aram Khachaturian Concert Hall, under the baton and artistic direction of Maestro Eduard Topchjan, never ceases to impress its summer audiences with the exceptionally entertaining and high-quality performances given. Featuring baritone David Babayants, soprano Ani Yorentz, tenor Liparit Avetisyan, soprano Hasmik Torosyan, bass Vazgen Gazaryan, and baritone Gianpiero Ruggeri, the Opera Gala produced an unforgettable effect upon the audience.
The program included selections from Leoncavallo, Gounod, Tchaikovsky, Mascagni, Puccini, Verdi, Mozart, Rossini, and Donizetti.

The spectacular gala opened with Gianpiero Ruggeri’s stunning performanc of Si puo? Si puo? Signore! Signori!, Tonio’s prologue from Ruggero Leoncavallo’s Pagliacci. Not only was the actual content of Tonio’s Prologue an ideal stage-warming number, it also manifested Ruggeri’s intriguing acting and smooth vocal production.

Next on the program was Ani Yorentz…

The Last Judgement: Verdi's Masterful Requiem and Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel

On September 14, 2017, the Armenian National Academic Theater of Opera and Ballet after A. Spendiarian performed Giuseppe Verdi's Requiem, but with a visual twist of murals from the Sistine Chapel, done by Michelangelo. The pictures were projected by "innovative technologies of the future" which allowed to create a "three-dimensional reproduction of the images of Michelangelo's masterpieces". Conducted by San Francisco-born conductor Konstantin Orbelyan Jr. (nephew of the famous Armenian conductor Konstantin Orbelyan), soloists soprano Marine Deinyan, guest mezzo-soprano from the USA Eleni Matos, bass Hayk Tigranyan, and tenor Sargis Aghamalyan performed Verdi's Requiem in this new realization of the stunning centerpiece of classical music. The visual effects were created by Italian stage and visual director Paolo Micciche. In Micciche's own words, "[t]he music of Verdi's Requiem has the same dramaturgy and rhythm as the great frescos by M…

Pianist Hrant Bagrazyan in Concert: In Memory of Professor Igor Yavryan

On July 19, accomplished classical pianist Hrant Bagrazyan gave a summer piano recital at the beautiful venue of the Komitas Museum-Institute, a "museum in Yerevan, Armenia, devoted to the renowned Armenian musicologist and composer Komitas", in memory of Professor Igor Yavryan, who passed away earlier this summer on June 16. Professor Yavryan was Bagrazyan's teacher and mentor.

"He helped me love and appreciate classical music and shaped me as a musician", wrote Bagrazyan. "Without him I wouldn't become a pianist."

The house was completely full, even with the necessity of adding several extra chairs to the rows in order to fit everyone who showed up for the performance. This is not surprising considering the high quality of the performance given.

The stunning program consisted of Komitas'  Six Dances, Johannes Brahms' Sonata No. 3 Op. 5 in f minor, Arno Babajanian's Six Pictures, and Maurice Ravel's Reflections. 

Komitas wrote th…