Skip to main content

Le Nozze di Figaro

Has anyone ever heard of Le Nozze di Figaro? No? How about The Marriage of Figaro? No? Yes? The Marriage of Figaro/ Le Nozze di Figaro is a comic opera by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Johnathon Miller's 1998 production of Le Nozze di Figaro returned to the Met this season. The 11/29/12 performance of Le Nozze di Figaro had been cancelled due to Hurricane Sandy. They still have a performance on 12/10/1212/13/12, and 12/17/12.

Gerald Finley, Maija Kovaleska, and Mojca Erdmann as Count Almaviva, Countess Almaviva, and Susanna.
The performances are conducted by David Robertson. Guess what was very untypical about this Mozartarian opera? There was a piano. A piano? What?! Yes, a piano in Mozart's orchestra. Dan Saunders accompanied the singers during the recitative moments. What about the harpsichord? Yeah, I know, Mozart recitatives should be performed with a harpsichord. but David Robertson decided to make something untypical in this production. The 1998 production itself is very Mozart like and a typical Figaro. That is the one main reason why David Robertson added the grand piano. Craig Rutenburg,  the director of music administration at the Met, said that David believed that adding a grand piano into the orchestra made it historically accurate. 

By the time Wolfgang Amdeus Mozart reached adulthood, the fortepiano was the most popular instrument. Mr. Rutenburg also explained that whenever the Met tried to usse a grand piano in its huge concert hall the sound ended up being petty and puny.

The stunning cast included Ildar Abrazakov as the cunning Figaro; Mojca Erdmann as his even more cunning bride, Susanna; Maija Kovalevska as the suffering Countess Almaviva; Gerald Finley as her unfaithful husband, Count Almaviva; and Chrisyine Schafer as the pageboy, Cherubino.


Popular posts from this blog

Opera gala time: Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra under Eduard Topchjan

The Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra, performing at the Aram Khachaturian Concert Hall, under the baton and artistic direction of Maestro Eduard Topchjan, never ceases to impress its summer audiences with the exceptionally entertaining and high-quality performances given. Featuring baritone David Babayants, soprano Ani Yorentz, tenor Liparit Avetisyan, soprano Hasmik Torosyan, bass Vazgen Gazaryan, and baritone Gianpiero Ruggeri, the Opera Gala produced an unforgettable effect upon the audience.
The program included selections from Leoncavallo, Gounod, Tchaikovsky, Mascagni, Puccini, Verdi, Mozart, Rossini, and Donizetti.

The spectacular gala opened with Gianpiero Ruggeri’s stunning performanc of Si puo? Si puo? Signore! Signori!, Tonio’s prologue from Ruggero Leoncavallo’s Pagliacci. Not only was the actual content of Tonio’s Prologue an ideal stage-warming number, it also manifested Ruggeri’s intriguing acting and smooth vocal production.

Next on the program was Ani Yorentz…

The Last Judgement: Verdi's Masterful Requiem and Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel

On September 14, 2017, the Armenian National Academic Theater of Opera and Ballet after A. Spendiarian performed Giuseppe Verdi's Requiem, but with a visual twist of murals from the Sistine Chapel, done by Michelangelo. The pictures were projected by "innovative technologies of the future" which allowed to create a "three-dimensional reproduction of the images of Michelangelo's masterpieces". Conducted by San Francisco-born conductor Konstantin Orbelyan Jr. (nephew of the famous Armenian conductor Konstantin Orbelyan), soloists soprano Marine Deinyan, guest mezzo-soprano from the USA Eleni Matos, bass Hayk Tigranyan, and tenor Sargis Aghamalyan performed Verdi's Requiem in this new realization of the stunning centerpiece of classical music. The visual effects were created by Italian stage and visual director Paolo Micciche. In Micciche's own words, "[t]he music of Verdi's Requiem has the same dramaturgy and rhythm as the great frescos by M…

Pianist Hrant Bagrazyan in Concert: In Memory of Professor Igor Yavryan

On July 19, accomplished classical pianist Hrant Bagrazyan gave a summer piano recital at the beautiful venue of the Komitas Museum-Institute, a "museum in Yerevan, Armenia, devoted to the renowned Armenian musicologist and composer Komitas", in memory of Professor Igor Yavryan, who passed away earlier this summer on June 16. Professor Yavryan was Bagrazyan's teacher and mentor.

"He helped me love and appreciate classical music and shaped me as a musician", wrote Bagrazyan. "Without him I wouldn't become a pianist."

The house was completely full, even with the necessity of adding several extra chairs to the rows in order to fit everyone who showed up for the performance. This is not surprising considering the high quality of the performance given.

The stunning program consisted of Komitas'  Six Dances, Johannes Brahms' Sonata No. 3 Op. 5 in f minor, Arno Babajanian's Six Pictures, and Maurice Ravel's Reflections. 

Komitas wrote th…